Love – Hate

Today was definitely better than the first 3 in terms of how I felt.  Goodbye ridiculous veggie-bloat!  I’m hardly a lean-mean-greens-machine but I certainly didn’t feel like I was still trapped in quicksand while wearing moon boots.  Hopefully this is moving in the right direction, since I’m pretty sure I was promised perfect sleep, glowing skin, reduced thigh-age and an Einsteinian boost in IQ.  I <<guess>> it will take more than 96hrs.

A nugget of what I learned today:  there are foods that I apparently don’t really love as much as I thought I did (NO WE’RE NOT TALKING ABOUT DARK CHOCOLATE WHICH I REMAIN FOREVER DEVOTED TO.)  And there are foods that are pretty friggin’ great, now that they aren’t being displaced by Ben & Jerry’s.  A few standouts of the day:

1.  Cheese:  There have been times in my life when this has made my Top 3 (below coffee and OH YEAH CHOCOLATE OF COURSE), with it’s creamy, tangy, salty, sharp flavor.  And yet, here it is just a few days in and cheese does not sound even the TINIEST bit appealing to me.  In fact, while searching for recipes I stumbled upon a picture of a burger dripping with cheese and I actually recoiled.  Will I forever shun it?  Probably not.  There is still some yumminess to be explored.  But do I miss a stretchy, gooey accompaniment to my eggs and veg?  Absolutely not.

2.  Carrots:  Seriously, these are not delicious.  I tried carrot juice once a long time ago and was grossed out by the coyingly sweet flavor.  And yet I continued to chomp them for the purpose of consuming Sunbutter, hummus, or to distract myself from eating piles of chocolate (see above.)  I will still toss them in a salad to cover my bases and probably still gnaw them when I need something to chew/carry Sunbutter.  But I officially do not like the taste of carrots.  The end.

3.  Apples:  Where have you been all my life, sweet, tart, crunch bursts of flavor?  Oh, right in front of me, consumed mindlessly as a mediocre backup when there was no time to prep anything else or when I was trying to undo some chocolate mistake?  I never paid attention, I guess, to the apple in its glory.  Now?  Not only do they elevate my salads to a holy place, but I actually feel a little guilty after dicing them and realizing I can chomp a few “extra” bites around the core.

4.  BACON:  OMG.  What the what?  It’s like I finally tuned into the channel that everyone else has been watching since the dawn of time/television.  Crisp, salty, unctious goodness melting in my mouth?   Yes, please.  I didn’t realize what I was gaining during the Great Preggo Swap of 2011.  It was the first time in my life when shrimp was revolting and bacon intriguing.  And bacon, you’ve just kept getting better.  I don’t miss the cockroach of the sea!  Thank you for being you, bacon.

Leave a Reply

